Idea

What was Welcome Dinner Bremen?

Welcome Dinner brought old and new Bremen women* together. Old-established city dwellers* have invited their new, immigrant or refugee fellow human beings to eat at their homes. Anyone who has ever been invited by hospitable people in a foreign culture knows what a special event this can be.
We were the platform that made these blessings possible. We arranged invitations from Bremer*innen to immigrants free of charge. The registration for the dinner was possible via a form as a guest or host*in on this website.

Over the past months and years, many people have come to Bremen and our city has become more and more diverse as a result. Welcome Dinner welcomes these people here in Bremen. Regardless of whether it was Bremen’s ancient rock or new to the city – Welcome Dinner gave everyone the opportunity to get to know each other at a joint meal, to exchange ideas and share eating cultures. It is this exchange that we wanted to encourage to go together for a get-together in our colourful Bremen.

Welcome dinner initiatives have received a lot of positive feedback in numerous cities – not only in Germany. Help to keep the spirit of this idea alive in Bremen!

1 October 2018

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Idee

Was war Welcome Dinner Bremen?

Welcome Dinner brachte alte und neue Bremer*innen zusammen. Alteingesessene Stadtbewohner*innen haben ihre neuen, zugewanderten oder geflüchteten Mitmenschen zum Essen zu sich nach Hause eingeladen. Wer schon einmal in einer fremden Kultur von gastfreundlichen Menschen eingeladen wurde, weiß, welch ein besonderes Ereignis dies sein kann.
Wir waren die Plattform, die diese Begnegungen ermöglichte. Kostenlos vermittelten wir Einladungen von Bremer*innen an Zugewanderte. Die Anmeldung zum Dinner war über ein Formular als Gast oder Gastgeber*in auf dieser Webseite möglich.

In den letzten Monaten und Jahren sind viele Menschen nach Bremen gekommen und unsere Stadt wurde dadurch immer vielfältiger. Welcome Dinner heißt diese Menschen hier in Bremen willkommen. Egal, ob Bremer Urgestein oder neu in der Stadt – Welcome Dinner gab allen die Gelegenheit, sich bei einem gemeinsamen Essen kennenzulernen, sich auszutauschen und Esskulturen zu teilen. Dieser Austausch ist es, den wir anregen wollten, für ein Aufeinanderzugehen in unserem bunten Bremen.

Welcome Dinner-Initiativen gibt es mit viel positiver Resonanz in zahlreichen Städten – nicht nur in Deutschland. Helft mit, den Geist dieser Idee auch in Bremen lebendig zu halten!

1. Oktober 2018